How To Register a Car In Nevada

How to register a car in NevadaIf you’re a new resident of Nevada or you’ve purchased your first new or ‘new to you’ car, you’ll need to get your car registered through the Nevada Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV).

Nevada requires that all new residents obtain a driver’s license and register their vehicles within 30 days from the date of their arrival. Don’t wait to do so, otherwise you could earn yourself a fine of $1000 for failing to register your vehicle in the given time. You’re considered a resident of Nevada if any of the following apply to you: 

  • Your legal residence is in the state.
  • You have an intrastate business where a motor vehicle is stationed at any given time in Nevada.
  • You are employed in the state of Nevada.

How to Register a Car in Nevada

Before you drive down to the DMV to register your vehicle, make sure you have the following:

  • Insurance coverage
  • Title (if applicable)
  • Signed application for registration
  • Current vehicle registration, including license plates, as well as a record of your current odometer reading. 

What Do I Need to Register My Car In Nevada?

  • Insurance

The name on your insurance policy must match the name on your registration exactly and must be issued by a Nevada-licensed carrier. If you have moved from another state, you must notify your insurance company that you have relocated to Nevada or purchase a new policy upon your arrival. Electronic Evidence of Insurance, such as those presented on a mobile device is accepted. Nevada requires that coverage consist of a minimum liability insurance of $25,000 for bodily injury for up to one person, $50,000 for injury to two or more persons, and $20,000 for property damages. Once coverage is obtained, Evidence of Insurance must be left in the vehicle at all times to present to law enforcement when requested.

Smog checks are required for all vehicles, both diesel and gasoline powered, produced after 1968 that reside in Clark and Washoe counties. New vehicles are exempt for their first two registrations while hybrid and electric vehicles are exempt for the first five model years. Diesel vehicles over 14,000 pounds are also exempt. Smog checks are required even if your vehicle was recently tested in another state. Nevada emission stations are privately owned and are located throughout the Las Vegas and Reno areas. Diesel powered vehicles must visit designated diesel locations. For a list of locations and information on the Nevada Emission Control Program visit https://dmvnv.com/emission.htm.

  • Title

Unless the title is being held by the lienholder, you must present your current title. Nevada gives you the option to hold on to your out-of-state title, however, for resale purposes they encourage you to obtain a Nevada title if your vehicle is paid for.

  • Registration, License Plates, & Odometer Reading

New residents are required to present their current vehicle registration, turn in out-of-state license plates, and present their current odometer reading.

  • Vehicle Identification Number Inspection

At its initial registration through Nevada, a vehicle must first be inspected at the DMV office or through law enforcement agencies. Also known as a VIN verification, this inspection ensures that the VIN shown on the vehicle matches the VIN outlined on the car’s ownership documents. When you arrive for your inspection, you will be required to provide the year, make, model and body type for your vehicle, the VIN, odometer reading, number of cylinders, number of rotors, and the type of fuel the vehicle requires (diesel, gasoline, propane, etc.). 

How Much Does it Cost to Register a Car in Nevada?

The cost to register a vehicle in Nevada varies. Several fees apply such as the cost of registration, government services tax, a supplemental governmental services tax (where applicable), a $1.00 technology fee, first time title fee of $29.25, and a standard license plate fees of $8.00.

 Registration fees are estimated based on the class and weight of each vehicle; however, most vehicle owners can expect to pay a $33 registration fee. Taxes are based on the MSRP when the vehicle was new. The MSRP does not change regardless of age or condition of the vehicle.

The first calculation from the DMV is based on 35% of the MSRP and is depreciated by 5% in the first year and 10% per year thereafter until it reaches a minimum of 15%. The tax is $0.04 on every $1 of the depreciated DMV valuation and the supplemental tax is $0.01 for every $1 of the depreciated DMV valuation. You can obtain an estimate of fees for your vehicle by visiting the Nevada DMV’s website.  

Renewing Your Nevada Vehicle Registration

When it’s time to renew your vehicle registration, a renewal postcard will be mailed to you 30 days prior to your vehicle’s registration expiration. Make note of when your registration expires, if you do not receive notice, you are still responsible for renewal. Nevada does not give a grace period and penalty fees will apply for late registrations. 

To renew your vehicle, make sure your vehicle has been smog tested (if applicable) and have your odometer reading ready. Renewals can be completed online, by mail, by fax, through the DMV kiosk, or in-person at any DMV location. 

Now that your car is registered, you’ll need a trusted automotive repair and maintenance center to help care for your car. Routine maintenance and minor repairs are the best way to ensure your car stays safe and reliable for years to come. Sun Auto Service can provide that care for you. We’re a family-owned and operated automotive center that’s been in business since 1978. We employ only the best and most experienced ASE Certified Technicians and Service Advisors to maintain our customer’s cars. Every repair comes with a nationwide 2-year/24,000 mile warranty because we guarantee our work in writing. In most cases we can provide same day service and offer free towing with major repairs. Plus, we have multiple locations in and around the Las Vegas area to serve you. From North Las Vegas to Henderson, there’s always a Sun Auto Service near you!