Texas Emissions Laws
In Texas, the following counties require an emissions test prior to registering a vehicle: Brazoria, Collin, Dallas, Denton, El Paso, Ellis, Fort Bend, Galveston, Johnson, Kaufman, Montgomery, Parker, Rockwall, Travis, and Williamson.
All vehicles, over 2 years old up to 26 years, with the exception of diesel-engines and motorcycles, require an emissions test as part of the state mandated comprehensive safety inspection.
Extensions and waivers are available in certain cases where the vehicle has failed emissions and the vehicle owner is able to show that they have taken reasonable measures to meet testing standards and based on approval, the granted waiver acknowledges that the vehicle will have little impact on overall air quality.
Nevada Emissions Laws
The State of Nevada requires all gas-powered, diesel engines up to 14,000 pounds, passenger vehicles, trucks, SUVs, and recreational vehicles receive an annual emissions test. New vehicles on their third registration are required to have an emissions test and hybrids are exempt from testing for five years.
Emission inspections are required for most first-time vehicle registrations as well as annual renewals in heavily populated and urban counties of Clark and Washoe. Residents will receive a renewal notice indicating whether an emissions test is required.
If your vehicle fails the emissions test, it must be repaired through a specially licensed facility to have repairs made and tested again. If the vehicle fails the subsequent test, a waiver may be issued. In order to qualify, during the second test, the carbon monoxide or hydrocarbon levels must exceed the set standards from 1968 – 1995 for both light duty vehicles and heavy-duty vehicles.
A “Check Engine” light illuminated for light duty vehicles of 1996 and newer also qualifies for a waiver. However, waivers are not issued to vehicles with warranty coverage, smoking vehicles, or those where emission device tampering is noted.
If the vehicle fails again, after repairs have been made, and the failure is due to hydrocarbons/carbon monoxide or the Check Engine light, and all financial standards, set by the Nevada DMV to obtain a waiver have been met, return to a DMV Emissions Test Facility along with your vehicle, failed notice, and receipts for all repair services, to obtain a waiver.
What We Check During An Emissions Test
In Nevada, Smog tests are performed through State Approved Smog Huts for testing. Prior to your test, bring your vehicle down for a pre-emissions test inspection. In Texas, the emissions test will be performed right along with your state inspection. The emissions testing process includes:
- Checking the OBD system to ensure no fault codes are stored.
- Ensuring the fuel cap is sealed and maintaining pressure in the evaporative system.
- All readiness monitors passed.
- Power identified at the OBD connection.
Frequently Asked Questions About Emissions Testing
Q: When do you need an emissions test?
A: Each state has different criteria from when testing will need to be performed. Visit your state’s vehicle registration website. In Texas, the state inspection and emissions process is handled through the Texas Department of Public Safety. In Nevada, the emissions and registration process is completed through the Department of Motor Vehicles.
Q: What do you need to bring to an emissions test?
A: In Texas, residents must provide a proof of insurance, photo ID, and payment. New residents, within 30 days of their arrival, must register their vehicle. In Nevada residents need only bring their car and VIN, and payment. New residents with an out of state car must visit the DMV.